Difference between revisions of "Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)"

From PrgmrWiki
m
Line 1: Line 1:
 
==Can you set reverse dns?==
 
==Can you set reverse dns?==
Yes, but you must be a customer for 3 months or prepay
+
Yes. By default the vps hostname and reverse dns is set to yourusername.xen.prgmr.com. we can set it to something else, if you like. To prevent Hanky Panky, we require that you set the forward dns first.
that period. Meanwhile prgmr.com must be in the hostname from reverse dns to
 
discourage abuse. By default the vps hostname and reverse dns is set to yourusername.xen.prgmr.com.
 
See also [http://wiki.xen.prgmr.com/xenophilia/2008/06/new-rdns-policy.html the blog].
 
  
 
==Can I upgrade my server later on?==
 
==Can I upgrade my server later on?==

Revision as of 23:06, 12 January 2010

Can you set reverse dns?

Yes. By default the vps hostname and reverse dns is set to yourusername.xen.prgmr.com. we can set it to something else, if you like. To prevent Hanky Panky, we require that you set the forward dns first.

Can I upgrade my server later on?

Yes, we can give you more memory and disk and you just have to halt and create the server again once the configuration is made. We will change the allocation policy from contiguous to normal for the extension operation so the extended disk will be non contiguous, but it is still all on one physical volume which is a linux kernel raid 1 mirror. We can also give you a second disk contiguously allocated if you want. Once the disk is extended, there are several ways to repartition using the new space. You can make a new partition and filesystem just on the new space, and move /var or /home to it for example. You can backup your existing filesystem(s), delete the partition, and make a new bigger one with a new filesystem(s) and restore from the backup. A risky and unreliable choice is to resize the existing filesystem. Parted can do this for certain filesystems. WE DO NOT RECOMMEND RESIZING THE FILESYSTEM. USERS HAVE LOST DATA. If you want to reinstall you can untar one of our os images.

Can I downgrade my server later on?

Yes. Because of the problems with resizing filesystems, we reinstall the OS image after downgrading the disk.

Can I change my billing period?

You can change your package to one with a different billing period by logging in to https://billing-external.prgmr.com. If you want to change other package details (memory, disk) be sure to let us know.

Can you host dns for me?

We don't offer a dns control panel, but you can run webmin with bind or another dns server and control panel and we can have our server as a slave for your domain. You can also host dns with another provider such as your registrar.

How much does a second ip address cost?

We charge a $5 yearly fee, and you must give us justification so that our space is being used well. Good reasons include running a STUN server and SSL certificates. Bad reasons include making one vps look like two authoritative dns servers for a domain, or SEO tomfoolery.

Why does the menu for the console say my server doesn't exist?

This doesn't mean your disk or other setup is gone, only that the domU is shutdown. This is because the xend management process on the dom0 doesn't know the status of your domU when it is shutdown.

Why does nothing happen when I connect to the console from the menu?

When you connect to the console it only shows you the output since the last time someone looked at the console. If there hasn't been any output, press enter and you should get a login prompt.

I can't seem to ssh root@myserver

permitRootLogin is set to no in /etc/ssh/sshd_config. I strongly reccomend that you leave that setting, create a non-root user, ssh in as the non-root user and then use su or sudo. You can change permitrootlogin if you must, but make sure you have a strong password.

Logging in through the console makes my terminal act funny

The "emergency console" is very picky. It needs to be 80x24 (or 80x25 or so) otherwise it gets very unhappy. You probably shouldn't do most of your work through that. Create a regular user, ssh in and do your work over ssh. After you disconnect from the xen console you can run reset to make your terminal normal again, or just close it and open a new one.